Predictions For NJSIAA Group Championships

The NJSIAA Group State Championships return to their yearly home of Holmdel Park this Saturday. As per usual the athletes and teams of New Jersey head to this meet with multiple intriguing match-ups on the line. 

In this article we do our best to predict the future and pick the favorite to win each race individually and as a team. 

As always this is just for fun discussion and we aren't pulling for or against anyone. One of the best things about covering the entire state of New Jersey at Groups is no matter who wins we're excited to celebrate them. NJXC all day every day.

Best of luck to everyone toeing the line at Group Champs, this has been a great season and we're all excited to watch the finale these next few weekends.

Predictions in this article were made by Robert Kellert, Jim Lambert, and Pat Montferrat.

Boys Group Championships

Individual Predictions

Team Predictions

Quick Notes

Listing notable individuals and teams, no particular order.

Group 1 - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Colin Riley of Jonathan Dayton (Central winner),  Andrew Garcia of Kinnelon (North 1 winner), Ian Zalewski of Verona (North 2 winner), Younes Abada of Secaucus (2nd at North 2), Elijah Whitaker of Glassboro (South winner), Aiden Williams of Audubon (2nd at South).

Key Teams: Haddon Township, Kinnelon, McNair Academic, Metuchen

2021 WinnersColin Riley, JR, Jonathan Dayton HS 16:08 / Audubon HS

Group 2 - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: George Andrus of Haddonfield (South winner), Owen Horevay of Lakeland Regional (North 1 winner), Jack Bolling of Haddon Heights (2nd at South), Tadael Mihret of Rutherford (North 2 winner), Mark Viggiano of Ocean Township (Central winner)

Key Teams: No. 5 Haddonfield Memorial,  Rumson-Fair HavenWest Morris Central, Pascack ValleyCinnaminson

2021 WinnersSeth Clevenger, SR, Haddonfield Memorial HS 15:51 / Haddonfield Memorial HS

Group 3 - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Peyton Shute of Gateway-Woodbury (South winner), Micah Lawson of Rahway (North 2 winner), Jeremy Bavaro of North Hunterdon (2nd at North 2), Ryan Beegle of Chatham (3rd at North 2), David McKinnon of North Hunterdon (No. 2 of Group 3 at Holmdel 16:09).

Key Teams: No. 7 Summit, No. 8 North Hunterdon, No. 9 Chatham, No. 20 Highland Reg, Northern HighlandsColts Neck.

2021 WinnersDennis Fortuna, SR, Triton Regional HS 15:54 / North Hunterdon HS

Group 4 - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Nick Kuenkel of Cherokee (South winner), Patrick Ditmars of Cherokee (2nd at South), Akshay Vadul of Edison (North 2 winner), Avery Keith of Westfield (2nd North 2), Dylan Decambre of Bergen Tech (North 1 winner), Stephen Kyvelos of Manalapan (Central winner), Lucas Reguinho of Elizabeth, Patrick Doran of Ridge, Fabian Ramales of Southern Regional.

Key Teams: No. 3 Cherokee, No. 4 Westfield , No. 6 Ridge, No. 11 Southern Regional, No. 14 Montgomery, No. 15 Princeton, No. 16 Montclair, No. 17 Ridgewood, No. 18 Manalapan, and No. 19 Monroe Township!

2021 WinnersMarco Langon, SR, Bridgewater-Raritan HS 15:38 / Ridge HS

Non-Public A - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Collin Boler of Delbarton, Brian Boler of Delbarton, Joe Barrett of CBA, Alex Schimmel of St. Peter's Prep, Ryan Cichocki of Union Catholic.

Key Teams: No. 1 Christian Brothers Academy, No. 2 Union Catholic, No. 10 Delbarton, No. 12 St. Peter's Prep, No. 13 Don Bosco

2021 WinnersShane Brosnan, SR, Union Catholic Reg. HS 15:45 / Union Catholic Reg. HS

Non-Public B - Read Full Preview

Individuals: Jeremy Sallade of The Wilberforce School, Caleb Brox of The Wilberforce School, Tyler Ferlise of St. Rose, Neal Choski of St. Thomas Aquinas.

Teams: St. Rose, Montclair Kimberley Academy, Bishop Eustace Prep, The Wilberforce School.

2021 WinnersBrian Theobald, JR, St. Rose HS 17:10 / Newark Academy

Girls Group Championships

Individual Predictions

Team Predictions

Quick Notes

Group 1 - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Megan Donlevie of Shore Regional, Meghan Lex of Haddon Township, Macie McCracken of Wildwood, Danielle Tilp of Cresskill, Amandine Fernandez of Bogota, Gianna Hernandez of Metuchen, Claudia Reines of Jonathan Dayton, Astrid Tffarello of Weehawken, Tarikwa Dunn of Weehawken.  

Key Teams: No. 19 Shore Regional, Metuchen, New Providence, Bogota, Hasbrouck Heights, Maple Shade, Glen Rock.

2021 WinnersMegan Donlevie, JR, Shore Regional HS 19:30 / Shore Regional HS

Group 2 - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Melina Johnston of Robbinsville, Julia Shanes of Rumson-Fair Haven, Christina Allen of River Dell, Ava Thomas of Haddonfield, Morgan Uhlhorn of Lakeland Regional, Riley Slootsky of Haddonfield, Ivy Slavinski of Pt. Pleasant Boro, Daphne Roskowski of Voorhees, Kate Meeks of Old Tappan.

Key Teams: No. 2 Haddonfield, No. 7 Rumson-Fair Haven, No. 16 Voorhees, Old Tappan.

2021 WinnersAngelina Perez 12 Lakeland Regional HS 17:07 / Haddonfield Memorial HS

Group 3 - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Liliah Gordon of Northern Burlington, Cassidy Roop of North Hunterdon, Abigail Waddington of Clearview, Abigail Kotran of Clearview, Sofia Day of Mainland Regional, Lily Oliver of Toms River South, Amelia Keogh of Ramapo, Meghan Rentner of Allentown.

Key Teams: No. 4 Clearview, No. 5 Northern Highlands, No. 8 North Hunterdon, No. 9 Ramapo, Allentown.

2021 WinnersLilly Shapiro, SR, Colts Neck HS 17:59 / Colts Neck HS

Group 4 - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Emma Zawatski of Freehold Township, Remy Dubac of Clifton, Jessica Abbot of Toms River north, Brooke Hunter of Phillipsburg, Sonia Olson of Westfield, Sara Khiri of Dickinson, Julia Scrudato of Montgomery, Alexis Tepper of Cherry Hill East, Madeline Dischert of Atlantic City, Michaela Schlemo of Egg Harbor Twp, Grace DelGiorno of Morristown, Cellina Rabolli of Ridgewood.

Key Teams: No. 4 Freehold Township, No. 7 Ridgewood, No. 12 Hillsborough, No. 14 Westfield, No. 15 Hunterdon Central, No. 18 Toms River North, No. 20 Southern Regional

2021 WinnersRemy Dubac, JR, Clifton HS 18:45 / Cherokee HS

Non-Public A - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Cate DeSousa of Red Bank Catholic, Lindsay Hausman of Kent Place School, Peyton Hollis of Union Catholic, Kaleigh Gunsiorowski of Union Catholic, Courtney Kaiser of Union Catholic, Leanna Johnston of Immaculate Heart Academy, Shaelan McNally of Paul VI.  

Key Teams: No. 1 Union Catholic, No. 11 Kent Place School, No. 13 Pingry School, No. 17 Red Bank Catholic

2021 WinnersCate DeSousa, JR, Red Bank Catholic HS 18:33 / Union Catholic Reg. HS

Non-Public B - Read Full Preview

Key Individuals: Tilly O'Connor of St. Rose, Arianna Cane of Bishop Eustace Prep, Elena Cicchini of Bishop Eustace Prep, Emma Bradley of Academy of St. Elizabeth.

Key Teams: No. 10 Villa Walsh, The Wilberforce SchoolBishop Eustace, St Rose.

2021 WinnersTilly O'Connor 11 St. Rose HS 19:14

Boys Storylines Preview

Girls Storylines Preview